Born in Mexico City, 1944, she studied Art History at the Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico City (BA 1969), and at the Universidad Nacional Autònoma de México (MA1988); presently she is working on her doctoral thesis “Arquitectos contemporáneos de México”. She was editor of Arquitectura/México from 1976 to 1980 and coordinator of the design group Praxis Mexico City from 1978-1980. She joined the staff of the Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in 1981 and since 1982 has been a researcher at the Institute. She is involved in many aspects of architectural criticism, being a co-founder and director not only of the Comité International des Critiques d´ Architecture (CICA) but also of the Mexican Association of Architectural Critics. She serves on the boards of various bodies including the Mexican Committee of Art Historians and the Commission for the Catalogue of Mexican Contemporary Architecture. Chronicler of the Academia de Arquitectura, 1986-1996, named Honorary Academician of the Sociedad de Arquitectos Mexicanos in 1988. Has been very active in the field of the protection of the XXth Century architectural heritage, becoming a member of the ICOMOS in 1993 and DOCOMOMO in 2003; in this field she is a member of the Comisión Nacional de Zonas y Monumentos Artísticos, of the National Institute of Fine Arts, since 1994, was nominated Inspector for UNESCO-ICOMOS, in the works for the World Heritage Declaration of the Ciudad Universitaria de Caracas, 2000, and is since 2006 is President of DOCOMOMO-Mexico and editor of the Bulletin. She has been elected as a member of the Academia de Artes, Mexico, 1991, and of the Academia Nacional de Bellas Artes, Argentina, 2006. Acted as consultant to the Macmillan Publishing House of London for the Dictionary of Art, 1986-1987; has given courses and lectures at Universities, in Mexico and abroad, and at international congresses. She is contributor to numerous architectural journals in México, North and South America, Europe and Japan. She was awarded the Jean Tschumi Prize by the UIA in 2011.


Génesis de un mural, 1982.

Agustín Hernández: Arquitectura y Pensamiento, 1982 and 1988.

Arquitectos contemporáneos de México, 1989, 1990 and 1996.

Ricardo Legorreta, Tradición y Modernidad, 1989.

Guía de Arquitectura contemporánea de la Ciudad de México, 1993, 1999 and 2002. Incollaboration with Carlos Tejeda.

Crónicas de la Academia Nacional de Arquitectura, I y II, 1993 and 1996.

Teodoro González de León, la voluntad del Creador, 1994. In collaboration with William Curtis.

Agustín Hernández, audacia estructural, 1995.

Vladimir Kaspé, reflexión y compromiso, 1995.

Luis Barragán, búsqueda y creatividad, 1996 and 2004.

Luis Barragán. Dilatazione emotiva degli spazi, 1997.

Enrique del Moral, un arquitecto comprometido con México, 1999.