International Architectural Design Competition Knowledge and Innovation Center in Tripoli, Lebanon

The International Architectural Design Competition for the Knowledge and Innovation Center in Tripoli, Lebanon is managed by the Lebanese Federation of Engineers and Architects on behalf of the Tripoli Special Economic Zone and the Government of the Republic of Lebanon. The International Union of Architects /UIA/ supports the competition.

The project will be a business and technology park that accommodates the growth of entrepreneurs, start-ups and SMEs in the city of Tripoli and the surrounding region. It’s aim is to become a platform attracting companies from a wide variety of sectors.

The proposed location will be within the Rachid Karami International Fair, designed by renowned Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer.

Competition participants will be required to provide an urban and architectural concept for the Knowledge and Innovation Center that preserves and integrates the existing modern heritage buildings.


The prizes will be awarded as follows:

  • 1st Prize: 60,000 USD
  • 2nd Prize: 30,000 USD
  • 3rd Prize: 15,000 USD

Additionally, honourable mentions could be conferred on works of exceptional merit in a specific area of innovation or creativity.


  1. Raya Al Hassan, Minister of Interior, Former Chairperson TSEZ, Lebanon

  2. Jad Tabet, Head, Lebanese Federation of Engineers and Architects, Beirut, Lebanon

  3. Bassam Ziadeh, Head, Order of Engineers and Architect, Tripoli, Lebanon

  4. George Kunihiro, Architect, T-Life Environmental Lab, Past President ARCASIA, Japan (UIA representative)

  5. Antonio Raffaele Riverso, Former UIA Region I Vice President, Italy (UMAR Representative)

  6. Francesco Bandarin, Former Director of World Heritage Centre and Former Assistant Director General for Culture at UNESCO, Italy

  7. Ana Tostoes, Chair, Docomomo International, Portugal

  8. Fares Dahdah, Director of the Humanities Research Center at Rice University, member of Fundação Oscar Niemeyer Board, USA

  9. Suha Ozkan, Former Secretary General of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Turkey

Alternate jurors

  1. Amale Andraos, Dean, Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, USA, and advisor to the Chairperson

  2. Gustavo Utrabo, Architect, Aleph Zero, Brazil


  • 18 February 2019: Competition Launch

  • 18 March 2019: Registration Deadline

  • 15 April 2019: Deadline for Questions

  • 18 April 2019: Deadline for Answers

  • 17 June 2019: Final Submission Deadline

  • 27-28 June 2019: Jury Deliberation

  • 28 June 2019: Announcement of Winners

  • 5 July 2019: Awards Ceremony

  • 5 – 7 July 2019: Exhibition


More information: